Loading Events

All Events

What leadership for a Church in transformation?

Event Category:
Event information

Date & Time
28 January, 14 h 00 min - 16 h 00 min

Presentation

Religious leadership has been facing major challenges for several years. The decline in vocations, the aging of consecrated persons, the management of the material and spiritual heritage are all challenges that burden the reality of religious leadership. At the same time, episcopal leadership is also facing similar challenges. The pandemic has catalyzed the awareness that we are called to being Church differently, in an evolving synodality.

Beyond questions of governance, we can reflect upon the spiritual intelligence of leadership, its styles and inspirations. How can religious and episcopal leadership mutually enrich one another? What are the post-pandemic perspectives for consecrated life and its place in the Church as a whole?

This webinar will begin with a socio-historical introduction on the transformations impacting the Church in Canada. We will then give the floor to a leader of men or women religious and a bishop to share their vision of leadership for a Church in transformation.

Audience

The webinars are intended for members of the CRC and their leadership teams. Leaders of local communities can also participate.

Panelists

Socio-historical perspective: Pr. E.-Martin Meunier, Professor and holder of the Chaire de recherche Québec, francophonie canadienne et mutations culturelles at the University of Ottawa
Leadership in consecrated life: Sr. Elizabeth Davis, RSM, Congregational Leader of the Sisters of Mercy of Newfoundland
Episcopal leadership: The Most Rev. Donald Bolen, Archbishop of Regina

Pr. E.-Martin Meunier

Sr Elizabeth Davis, RSM

The Most Rev. Donald Bolen

Program

  • Welcome and prayer
  • Socio-historical introduction
  • Leadership in consecrated life
  • Episcopal leadership
  • Dialogue, questions & answer period
  • Conclusion

LOCAL TIMES:

Newfoundland Standard Time (NST): from 3:30 to 5:30 p.m.
Atlantic Standard Time (AST): from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m.
Eastern Standard Time (EST): from 2:00 to 4:00 p.m.
Central Standard Time (CST): from 1:00 to 3:00 p.m.
Mountain Standard Time (MST): from 12:00 to 2:00 p.m.
Pacific Standard Time (PST): from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m

About the CRC’s 2020-2021 programming

For the first time this year, the CRC’s programming will be entirely online and interregional. The webinar approach will give CRC members an opportunity to meet differently, and to have more discussions amongst members of different regions.

The webinars will open up spaces for discussions, allowing for meaningful exchanges of ideas and new perspectives. They will equip members and take them on a common journey of discernment about the role of consecrated life in today’s world.