Loading Events

All Events

The psychological effects of confinement: Rebuilding communion and relationships

Event Category:
Event information

Date & Time
22 October, 14 h 00 min - 16 h 00 min

Presentation

The confinement has tested community relations and the psychological well-being of several religious community members. It became apparent that some community members had been experiencing isolation long before the pandemic. Others lost their joyfulness and zest for life. The preventative isolation also increased the vulnerability of people suffering from cognitive impairments.

As a leader, how can one help and support those most affected by these challenging times (relationships cut off, grief, changes to community life)? What processes could help communities name and overcome the psychological after-effects of the pandemic? How can faith help overcome a traumatic episode?

The objective of this webinar is to provide reference points for leaders who find themselves in this situation and help them in renewing community relationships. It follows up on the psychological impacts of the confinement which leaders mentioned during the May 2020 Zoom meetings and recent September webinars.

Guest speaker

Fr. Daniel Renaud, OMI, member of the September 2020 webinar panel, will join us again to offer some psycho-spiritual insights on the psychological impacts of the confinement shared by leaders.

Program

  • Welcome and prayer
  • Overview of the psychological effects of confinement followed by a discussion amongst participants
  • Psycho-spiritual insights on the psychological impacts and paths for renewing and nurturing community relationships
  • Questions, answers & comments period
  • Conclusion

LOCAL TIMES:

Newfoundland Daylight Time (NDT): from 3:30 to 5:30 p.m.
Atlantic Daylight Time (ADT): from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time (EDT): from 2:00 to 4:00 p.m.
Central Daylight Time (CDT): from 1:00 to 3:00 p.m.
Mountain Daylight Time (MDT): from 12:00 to 2:00 p.m.
Pacific Daylight Time (PDT): from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m

About the CRC’s 2020-2021 programming

For the first time this year, the CRC’s programming will be entirely online and interregional. The webinar approach will give CRC members an opportunity to meet differently, and to have more discussions amongst members of different regions.

The webinars will open up spaces for discussions, allowing for meaningful exchanges of ideas and new perspectives. They will equip members and take them on a common journey of discernment about the role of consecrated life in today’s world.